top of page

A pen sponsored my ride

Day 4 | 18th April 2015

This morning at Phnom Penh International Airport, I met Rachel Krafchow in the Immigration queue and we briefly introduce each other. After collecting the baggage when I was ready to walk towards the city (my destination was 15 kilometers away), she said let’s take a tuk-tuk. With a smile I said, I can’t afford it and the next second with a big smile she said don’t worry it’s on me!

Rachel Krafchow | Picture shot on Nikon D800

After living in several parts of the United States of America, Rachel decided to come to Cambodia. From last few months is working as a school teacher in Phnom Penh and seems like she is enjoying it a lot. She is originally from Israel, the country which I wish to visit as soon as possible.

I started conversation this morning by requesting her to lend me a pen to fill up the form at Phnom Penh Airport. And I am habitually, along with saying thank you I started a conversation with her and made her acquiescence. And soon after we collected the baggage she offered to pay for my tuk-tuk ride. During our tuk-tuk ride, we spoke about some interesting aspects of life and she gave me insight of the city.

I guess I was meant to meet as in sport span of that ride I learned few things from her. All thanks to that pen which connected us

bottom of page